The Case for Making Friends at Work

Jeffrey Fermin
5 min readAug 9, 2019

Some statistics (and opinions) that prove that working amongst friends improves productivity and happiness.

Illustration by Seth Eckert

The infographic was originally created by my designer back at Officevibe. Enjoy the article! Check out the Slideshare before reading!

I can honestly admit that I’m one of those people that have to be around people they like in order to work better — for me, there’s a humongous benefit from having friends at work. It can alleviate some of the stress that comes from working a lot of hours and makes those high-pressure situations easier to deal with.

So I found a couple of statistics that prove that having a good group of friends at work is not only a nice-to-have but is a NEED TO HAVE.

1. Creates A Better “Work-Life”

70% of employees say friends at work is the most crucial element to a happy working life.

I have done a lot of talking about work-life balance in the past and it’s all for a good reason. When you’re able to balance both work and life it significantly reduces…

--

--

Jeffrey Fermin

Howdy 👋🏼 I’ve been in HR Tech since 2011 when I co-founded Officevibe (left 2016) | Trying to make the future of work the present | Let’s talk people ops 💬